Hrithik and Alia Got The Oscar Call

Filmy RhythmJuly 3, 2020

Hrithik and Alia Got The Oscar Call


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited 619 new members to their committee. Forty-five per cent of the new members are women and 36 per cent are black. The decision was made to reduce allegations and controversy about racism, gender inequality and nepotism at the Oscars. Among the new members are Hrithik Roshan and Alia Bhatt from Bollywood. In the next year, these two will be able to vote for the Oscars and express their views on various decisions. Also invited from India are Indian casting director Nandini Srikanth, costume designer Nita Lulla, producer Nishtha Jain, Amit Madhesia, visual effects supervisor Bishal Anand and Sandeep Kamal. The list was shared on Wednesday from Oscar’s official Twitter account. In the caption, say hello to our new committee members. The official letter of the Oscar committee has already reached Hrithik and Alia.

Hrithik and Alia Got The Oscar Call


In 2020, Alia Bhatt’s ‘Gali Boy’ was nominated for an Oscar in the ‘Best Foreign Language Film’ category. Alia, 26, was nominated by the Oscar committee for her performance in the film. There is also mention of the movie ‘Razi’ starring Alia. On the other hand, 48-year-old Hrithik Roshan has gifted the highest-grossing film of 2019, ‘War’. There is another film of Hrithik in the list of top 10 highest-grossing movies of 2019, ‘Super Thirty’.

Earlier, director Anurag Kashyap, Zoya Akhtar and actor Anupam Kher were also members of the Oscar committee. Zoya has been invited to be a member of the Directors category this year. Anurag Kashyap has been selected by the committee for the Short Film and Feature Animation category. David Rubin, president of the Oscar committee, said: “We always call on the committee to have great talents who represent a large group in world cinema. We have always kept diversity in mind. And now diversity will be more prevalent.

The Oscars regularly invite Bollywood stars to their committees. Earlier, Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, Madhuri Dixit, Tabu, Anil Kapoor, Aamir Khan, Salman Khan, Irrfan Khan, Priyanka Chopra, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Deepika Padukone and many others have been invited to the Oscar committee.


Leave a comment

Name *
Add a display name
Email *
Your email address will not be published